If You Were Manager…

Alright Jays fans, the post below is what I was thinking of just after Farrell left. It’s basically a diatribe of how pissed off I was, and what I’d imagine the new manager might say BEFORE any of the franchise-changing transactions took place this week.

Here goes:

“Let’s face the facts. You were DUMPED by a manager who thought Boston was more intense, more passionate, and more energetic than whatever he had over here. He wanted to manage Boston. What does that say about this lame-duck group that I have to come in here to manage and scrap something out of? Yes, I see some talent here in the room, but so what! As a team, you sucked last year and until you start playing as a team and doing the little things, and picking each other up, you will continue to be a mediocre club that people would PREFER not to manage.

If you really care about the club, if you really care about Toronto and the organization that pays you, you will unite together to play every opponent in the fiercest of ways – and show that guy who left you at the way side that he missed an opportunity here. Be that team who will not give up until that final out is made, be that team that refuses to lose, and show the baseball world that we are a force to be reckoned with – and NOT just some afterthought like “oh yeah, that other team in the AL East that hasn’t made the playoffs in 20 years” that our opponents can just walk all over. I expect YOU to utilize your skills, to be aggressive on the base paths, have a 2-strike approach to put the ball in play. Trust yourself, but also be smart out there. KNOW the situation and what you can do.

Finally, as if I need to say it, but I’m the one in charge here, I make the line-up card and decide who makes the team. I WON’T be afraid to bench someone if I deem them to be not making the effort or giving 110%. At the end of the day, you answer to me by how you play on the field and how you conduct yourself off of it.

And now here’s what would say at the introductory press conference, if I were manager, since all the transactions took place:

(While trying to keep all the “YAH-HOO, YIPPEE, HOO-RAY, YESSSSS! exclamationsinside of me) “Alright folks, first things first, I’d like to say I’m very proud to be the new manager of the Toronto Blue Jays. I’m very thankful for this opportunity. We got a good club here with a lot of cherished history. Alex and Paul, in addition to Rogers has done a great job here of putting together a contending – and I believe playoff bound – organization. We’ve got talent from top to bottom. Everywhere you look, there’s an All-Star calibre player. And what I can promise you is that we’ll play the game right, we’ll play the game hard, and we’ll never give up until our goals are realized. And make no mistake, we’re here to compete with the best of them. I feel Toronto is in a very good position within the AL East itself. We’ve got solid pitching with a deep line-up. If we can stay healthy, we’re gonna score a lot of runs and be near the top of the league in home runs and stolen bases with the speed we have.

Personally, I’m ready for the challenge. I think the players are too. And we’re going to be ready to work come February to reach our ultimate goal.

Kinda fun to think about it, ain’t it?!

Leave a Reply

